I think im going to start saving for a Cupra

Benji

Dec 29, 2008
Cambs
As the title says, i think ive decided to set myself one hell of a challenge and start saving the pennies so i can buy a Cupra.

At the moment im driving a 1.6 SE 01 plate and i had to save pretty hard for that. It cost me £3,995 last Feb and it's my first car. I think it took me around 8 months to save £4000 although i did spend quite a bit at christmas, bought myself a PS3 which wasn't cheap!
This time though, i do have a car to sell which would help massively.

Insurance was a ridiculous £1200 for the year! Purely because i have no driving experience and i was 20 at the time.
With my 1 year's no claims bonus, insurance was £620 for this year. Half what i was paying last year!

I've done some insurance quotes on a cupra (180) and it's back to the drawing board at £1000-£1300 for the year! That's with 2 years no claims bonus as it will take me around a year to save enough, so if i watch myself i'll hopefully have 2 years ncb in a years time.

I've gone through the saving process before and im willing to do it again, but i was just wandering what your thoughts were really?
At 21-22 am i too young to be driving a cupra? I personally dont think so, it will be a jump or about 80bhp which is a lot, but i think quicker cars as safer in a lot of ways and i dont drive particularly fast anyway.

traumapat

Leon Cupra IHI
Jul 24, 2005
sunny sussex
I've gone through the saving process before and im willing to do it again, but i was just wandering what your thoughts were really?
At 21-22 am i too young to be driving a cupra? I personally dont think so, it will be a jump or about 80bhp which is a lot, but i think quicker cars as safer in a lot of ways and i dont drive particularly fast anyway.

what a very mature attitude! i think saving for a cupra is a brilliant idea! many choose to get into loan debt etc. saving up is the better way.