LC sounds like a diesel?

cupra-barn

It's all about stealth!
Aug 4, 2010
Worcester
Just after some opinions really,

Ive had my LC 10 days now and something ive noticed is that when i start the car it sounds (much to my upset) like a diesel for around 3 seconds then goes quite.
Is this normal?
Does this sound like an issue?
Am i over reacting? :shrug:

Please help. :help:

Barns

Aug 5, 2010
Pig Hill

Ive had my LC 10 days now and something ive noticed is that when i start the car it sounds (much to my upset) like a diesel for around 3 seconds then goes quite.
Is this normal?

Barns

It goes quite quiet after turning it on? ;)

I've noticed this effect on many cars, I'm no mechanic but I believe it's something you shouldn't worry about.

Steely

semiskimmed cupra R
Dec 30, 2008
Doncaster

Is this normal?

Barns

yeah its normal, alot of first morning start rattles/noises are caused by a thin oil (which usually turbo engine req) and hydraulic cam followers, over night the oil makes its way to the sump, usually draining away from the followers too,

all 1.8 turbos as they start turn over like a diesel, then you'll usually get a 2-3 second grrr first thing in a morning , or usually if its not been run for 24 hours +,,, only way to explain it,

way to prove it is start it up then turn it off and start it again the noise will of dissapeared,

cupra-barn

It's all about stealth!
Aug 4, 2010
Worcester
Ahh i think i follow you.

Least its a normal thing was beginning to worry.

Is there anything you can do or not really? Like you said u get a few seconds of high revs sounding diesel'y then all hunky dorey..
While im asking things do you need to let the turbo warm up/cool down before moving/turning it off?
Ive heard mixed things on this so far im leaving it about a minute before turning off.:shrug:

Steely

semiskimmed cupra R
Dec 30, 2008
Doncaster
Ahh i think i follow you.

Least its a normal thing was beginning to worry.