Ibiza Cupra Sport 16V ABF help

Solus

Here is my sorry tale....

About 6 months ago, I changed the battery on my Ibiza and Since then, the car cuts out when you start it unless you keep your foot on the gas. When the engine is warm it ticks over but the revs are all over the place.

I've had to adjust the throttle cable to make the car driveable. I'm no expert on cars but this is what I've done so far -

• Replace the idle control valve
  • Checked/replaced the fuses
  • Replaced the coolant temperature sensor
  • Replace the small breather hoses

None of the above has cured the problem. Is a dodgy tick-over an MOT failure?

Also, should the idle control valve hum when you turn the ignition on? I had a diagnostics guy out to it and he couldn't find any faults.

I'm running out of ideas. Help..

Deleted member 32025

Hmm that is a strange one, I would have assumed the idle control valve would have fixed it.

What does it drive like?

Solus

Cheers guys.

Yes I also replaced the fuel pump relay - forgot to mention that ;)

The car drives ok but I've had to adjust the throttle so that it doesn't cut out. This means that the revs are high when the car is warm. Turns heads for all the wrong reasons!

Re: air-leaks. I took it to a garage and they replaced the small hoses but said they couldn't find any leaks in the larger ones so I'm scratching my head really.

I'm wondering if the idle control valve was a dud. Is it supposed to buzz when you turn on the ignition?

Big-Pete

Always on the Limit
Aug 8, 2010
check the auto choke is out, see under the ht lead cover there is a cylindrical thing make sure thats properly in the inlet manifold with no leaks.

Solus

Thanks for that.

I decided to replace the idle control valve with a new one in case it was a dud. It doesn't cut out anymore but now the revs go up and down by themselves. If you touch the throttle the rev counter goes off the scale! WTF!!