Machine polishing - leaving behind problems

chris285

leon mk1 fr tdi
Nov 26, 2004
lincoln, uk
Ok short story is last weekend i went over to my parents and borrowed my dad's 20 quid machine polisher, is an orbital one with bonnet covers you get from machine mart or halfords so its not great but better than doing it by hand

i've used this type of machine polisher a few times before so i'm not a complete novice with them, but this last time after polishing i had a couple of areas where it seems like the polish hasn't broken down properly and its left a haze mark on the paintwork which requires some work to remove

before polishing i basically just washed the car as normal with only a single bucket and mitt so not ideal but its all i had to hand, i clayed the car prior but tbh it doesn not require much claying anymore as i keep on top of it

so i'm not sure if these haze marks are down to the technique i am using or too much polish or if its a limitation of the machine polisher, as it has a microfibre cover for applying the polish was oly elasticated on so i can't imagine an even action on the paintwork by this nature. when i polish i go smoothly either vertically then horizontally and then switch so if i go vertically over a section i come back horizontally, to try and make sure i don't miss any sections of paintwork. in terms of the amount of polish i tend to put several pea sized blobs on the machine polisher, then dab onto the section of paint to be done to remove excess before polishing.

can anyone advise where i am going wrong or offer suggestions, don't get me wrong the car still looks good but there are small areas that let it down

Sep 3, 2009
Walsall, West Mids
Sounds like holograming to me... looks like a haze that shimmers over (almost off) the paintwork !?