Leon Cupra - Veering to Left

BRyman

I am new to SEAT Cupra.net - Forgive me if I miss any etiquette!

I have a 3 month old Leon Cupra, and am having a few tracking problems.

The car continually veers to the left. For example, on a motorway, if it is in the outside lane, and the steering wheel is 'left loose' - with no correction - it will move to the inside lane in less than a few hundred yards (and would carry on unchecked!).

Speaking to the Dealer, they said this is the normal following of the camber in the road, to which the Leon low profile tyres are apparently extremely sensitive. They have checked the tracking several times and report no problems, and said 'I am not used to the car yet'.

I know the car will follow the camber, but is this a common problem? I drive continually 'holding' the car, with the steering wheel at a 2-3 degree clockwise angle to correct for the pull under both town and motorway conditions.

Sorry if this is a naive question, but if anyone can help I'd appreciate it! :)

Last edited by a moderator:

shomihaq

Dec 13, 2003
Bradford
Visit site
My Toledo is the same - making it hard work on a long motorway drive. Tried tracking and wheel swapping to no avail.

Next step is geometry which can cost £60-£100. Camber and in-built design to play a part (as do the wider wheels), but surely not that much .....

However, about 70% of my cars have been the same - it would just be nice to have a car that drove in a straight line. Whats the point having an armrest and cruise control if you cant relax cos your fighting with the wheel all the time ...

Goot

There Can Be Only One!
Sep 9, 2002
Cheshire
Took my car to Kwik Fit as mine was pulling to the left.... the result -6!!! OMG, should be 0!!! £23 later, car drives in straight line :)

Goot :)

sjtscott

Now with added Revo! :-)
Apr 15, 2003
London UK
Visit site