MAF or Coil Packs?

Snoopcousins

Working the Guns!
Mar 18, 2005
Bangor
Hi, need some advice....

I've had my LCR for over a year and had a coil pack and MAF replaced 12 months ago when getting my remap.
I never noticed a problem back then other than a bit juddery in acceleration.

Now however...I am getting what must be Limp Mode. The EPC and Traction control light come on and no power over about 50 mph.

I had noticed recently that it was very juddery when cold and slightly jerky when accelerating..but didn't seem like mis-firing though I'm no expert..
Also when I was turning the engine on the Revs would climb to about 2.5k before settling back down to idle.

Does this all sound like the MAF or a coil pack??

I want it sorted coz it's annoying having to stop and restart car when it happens and I don't want to be doing it any damage?!

Thanks!

andycupra

status subject to change
do you find you typically have the poor running in the first 5 miles or so of driving?
i say this as the high revs issue is often seen if there is an issue with the coolant temp sensor. and so possibly when cold its not running right due to wont temp info?

failure of maf brings up traction control light, but the car would still drive 90% ok so the no power over 50mph does not support this.
However you could try unplugging the maf and running in case its not completely failed.

Otherwise the issue sound potentially like a coil pack failure to me, this is where id put my efforts.
Many people raises threads when a coil fails and say the car shakes, shudders etc and many dont say its a misfire but it turns out to be a coil.
It reads like you replaced one coil at time of remap? if so further failures might have been anticipated, carrying a spare is a good idea, and would help in sich a situation as you can change each in turn to see if it helps.

scanning it would be a good idea to confirm.

Last edited:

Snoopcousins

Working the Guns!
Mar 18, 2005
Bangor