Phenolic Gasket

alias

May 9, 2011
Essex
Has anyone used the Neuspeed smallport phenolic gasket for sale on AwesomeGTi? Is it recommended? I need to remove the inlet manifold to inspect an oil leak so I may as well upgrade the gasket. Is it reusable? I have no experience of phenolic gaskets.

While I'm down there, I'll also be doing my thermostat. Is the dipstick tube a dealer only part? The only other one I can find is an ally one on Awesome for £53(!).

Has anyone used the Neuspeed smallport phenolic gasket for sale on AwesomeGTi? Is it recommended? I need to remove the inlet manifold to inspect an oil leak so I may as well upgrade the gasket. Is it reusable? I have no experience of phenolic gaskets.

While I'm down there, I'll also be doing my thermostat. Is the dipstick tube a dealer only part? The only other one I can find is an ally one on Awesome for £53(!).

look on ebay for the dipstick tube, I think i got mine for about 5 quid, haven't got any experience with the gasket as I just put a brand new gen OE one back on

Last edited:

nd-photo.nl

Mar 6, 2012
The Netherlands
www.nd-photo.nl
I have one from BAM racing, I dont have before/after comparisons, so cant comment really. But my intake header feels very cold after a drive. Check the section from Bill Badger, he should be able to sort you out.

Last edited:

alias

May 9, 2011
Essex
I've already checked Bill's section; he only supply's large port or small port inlet to large port head phenolic gaskets. I'll have a look at that BAM racing, thanks for the heads up!

In other news, visited EAG Seat today and they can't find a thermostat on their system for 1.8T engined cars and they want £25 for a new dipstick and dipstick tube! May end up paying it though if I can't find any good alternatives.

Last edited:

alias

May 9, 2011
Essex
That's no good :( I'm after a small port one. I'm curious about the Neuspeed one as it isn't sandwiched between two regular gaskets, like most are.