A Possible Comeback - Opinions Needed - Ibiza MK5

VRSLOZ

Formally SC16v
May 1, 2010
Costa Del Hertfordshire
Afternoon All :D

After a little bit of help!

After a few years away from Seat I've finally managed to get a job where I'm being given a company car! The list is quite extensive and there are a few Seat models on there to choose from. If I was to choose one it would be another Ibiza or the new Leon, of which I have little knowledge of.

Of course it's all down to what allowance I'm given but in the running is the 1.6 TDi SE and FR. It will be easy to say "FR all day long" as that is what I'm thinking but I'd like some constructive feedback on the pro points for the SE too if possible.

For the Leon I'll stick a post up in the MK3 forum.

Thanks all! :thumbup:

Last edited:

Ahl

Jul 8, 2013
If you aren't paying for it, I'd get the Leon - bigger, better handling, arguably better looking...especially if you get the tech pack with LED lights all round (free at the moment on the 5 door I believe).

If you have a look at the weight I think you'll find they weigh the same too, so shouldn't be any slower!

The question is, could you push them to get you the 2L diesel? 200hp or so with a wee remap...

znww5

Mar 27, 2011
I've driven both and I would undoubtedly go for the Leon - better quality interior, better handling, better ride quality, more room, lower noise levels. Also has more road 'presence', so you don't get so many people pulling out in front of you as you do with the Ibiza. The only thing I missed was the lack of baggage hooks in the boot for shopping! Initially I wasn't too keen on the angular design of the wing mirrors, but functionally they let you see what you need to see although I still think that they clash with the flowing lines of the rest of the car.