Would it be wise to buy a TDI for low mileage/occasional use considering DPF

james.milroy

Mar 18, 2007
Sunny Saltcoats, Scotland
Hi All,

I'm seriously considering buying a nearly new Leon 3 2.0TDI SE with the Tech Pack. Only thing is that I am a low mileage driver, about 6000 a year. I cycle to work so only use the car on my day off or weekends. Is the situation regarding DPF's any better with these or am I best staying clear. I know it is possible to do a regen with VCDS. What do you all think.

ma9mwah

Aug 13, 2009
yearly mileage doesn't really matter, its more important about the journey lengths. 10 x 600 mile journeys would be fine. 600 x 10 mile journeys would be bad. You really want to be looking at 20-25+ mile journeys to make sure the car gets warmed up.

Also at that level of mileage getting a petrol car might work out cheaper.

Last edited:

Toon

drives a Leon 1.8DSG
Mar 25, 2014
South East
If you only do low mileage then you are probably better off with a petrol.

The DPF problem hasn't gone away although some people seem to suffer more than others (driving style perhaps?).

The 1.4 petrol is very economical (friend at work gets 50 mpg on his daily commute) and its quite nippy.
Or if you want a bit more power go for the 1.8.

I test drove a 184 diesel around York, the light came on and stayed on. Do you really want the hassle?

Toon

drives a Leon 1.8DSG
Mar 25, 2014
South East
Yes but its well documented that a lot of people do have problems with their DPFs.

A petrol is the safer bet imo and what savings he would get in the better economy of the diesel are offset by the petrol car being cheaper to buy.

smurf123

Feb 9, 2014
swindon wiltshire
as toon says is correct i was the same but as i only do 5-6000 a year i went for petrol as its false ecconamy buying a diesel as fuel is more expensive than petrol and no diesel dpf issues so you would be better off with petrol

Never2old

Jul 5, 2014
North East