Cupra r or fr +?

gti power

Oct 1, 2008
I'm considering a seat leon as my next car and I'm not sure if I want the petrol cupra or the diesel fr.
I'd be doing around a 40 mile commute to work and back each day but I'd also like to use the car for my mountain biking and fishing so considering the diesel as it won't cost me a fortune to go places.

I'm no expert on vags but I'm aware of the water leaks on leons etc and about the pick ups blocking on the 1.8T engines I'm guessing the diesels suffer with the dual mass flywheels, does the petrol have a dual mass?
I'm just wondering what issues both have and what advantages of owning one over the other?

The petrol cupra seem to be sensibly priced with low/average miles where as the diesels seem to be similar money with twice the miles so I'm concerned about potential failures of expensive components such as injectors etc.
Thanks.

Stuart83

Jan 2, 2007
Tamworth, Midlands
Hmmm ... Difficult one that.

The diesel will no doubt give you much better mpg than the Cupra R - I have the R at the moment and am averaging about 32mpg on a tank. It depends on your route, driving style etc as to what you'll get out of it, as I have seen up to 40mpg on a good long motorway journey, but that's more likely to be 50+ from the diesel.

I think the main thing to be considering with the diesel is the "chocolate camshaft" issue - have a Google / forum search. Having not owned a 150 diesel I can't really comment on how frequent / likely this is, and I guess its a lot less frequent than is made out. It's like the oil pickup pipe on the 1.8T - as long as the cars been looked after and serviced correctly there shouldn't be any issues.

Afaik both cars use a DMF, the R definitely does as mine was replaced along with the clutch kit not long ago. I'd budget for around £750 (if you buy the parts and supply them to the garage), especially if its not been done on any car over 100k miles, maybe a little more on the TDI if its not been remapped.