Custom Subwoofer enclosure

Project1P

May 30, 2014
Portsmouth
Seen this done before on here; I've stripped out the trim in the boot which has the small netted luggage compartment. Bought a Fibre glass kit online, it arrived a few days later.. I've never done this before so no idea how it will turn out! So far I've done two layers of fibre glass around the trim piece I stripped out, just allowing the second layer to dry tonight. It's pretty rock solid. Also got some 12mm thick MDF wood, thick enough to be sturdy but not ridiculously heavy either. Will be buying an 8inch Subwoofer and Mono Amp, probably Hertz, as I've got Hertz speakers and tweeters (Highly recommend)

20150923_180606_zpsjwazufrz.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

20150923_180628_zpsxjfhh5sj.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

I've covered the boot trim in carrier bags (preferably without holes) to protect the trim, they can hopefully be ripped off the back on the Fibre glass mould when it's completely dry. Then it's to put the trim back in and try the mould into it's position and note down any excess to be cut off and build it up in the an enclosure shape.

20150929_182751_zpsehbtl8kr.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

I'll try and keep this thread updated with pictures and how it's going, any advice would be much appreciated!

lsg60

Mar 31, 2014
I was thinking of this to mount my amps, have to keep us updated :). I have a Hertz setup Aswell, epic sound system always get comments from people on how good it sounds

Jul 6, 2013
West Yorkshire
I'm keeping an eye on this. Looks good so far, how are you fixing to the the side panel? I'm a fibreglass laminator by trade and thought a bout doing this and making a pocket/storage hole with a door for the other side too.

Project1P

May 30, 2014
Portsmouth
I'm keeping an eye on this. Looks good so far, how are you fixing to the the side panel? I'm a fibreglass laminator by trade and thought a bout doing this and making a pocket/storage hole with a door for the other side too.