Cupra on normal 95 ron fuel

StuartT

Jul 23, 2001
Shetland
Visit site
Hi,

I was wondering if anyone has thoughts about running a cupra 290 on 95 ron fuel. Unfortunately some of us live out in the sticks in north Scotland and can't get ANY super unleaded. My nearest is probably a 6hr ferry ride!

I'd expect it to be a little down on power but does it run smooth? Anyone tried it or are having to do this?

Thanks

nautix

Aug 28, 2015
Hi, I have to run mine on 95 as its only option in Ireland. No running issues at all! Also, inside filler cap it states (95 RON) so don't think it's cause long term probs - just a small reduction in power.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

simonsaunders

Jan 5, 2016
I'm no expert on VAG products, but most modern cars will manage this for you.

Worth experimenting with tanks of both to see what mpg and performance you get on each.

My old R53 Cooper S hated 95 and ran like a dog on it. But at least having tried it, I could justify the extra. On scores of motorbikes and other performance cars, 95 or higher made little discernible difference.

ESS

Jan 11, 2016
Cupra's should run 98 or above says on your petrol flap.

zondaff

Mar 8, 2015
Surrey
Cupra's should run 98 or above says on your petrol flap.

I believe it's different depending on the market like for instance, Ireland it is stated 95. Although you're right that it is 98 on the fuel filler cap.

Car should be fine on 95

Ken H

Dec 20, 2015
Cork , Ireland
Don't know of anybody selling 98ron in Southern Ireland . Mine runs absolutely perfect on 95. I remember watching a programme some time ago , it may have been top gear .....they did a test with a golf gti and the results weren't to be expected. Some of the so called higher octane fuels didn't perform as well as they should have.

driver33

Apr 9, 2016