Mk3 buying advice

JCM27

Apr 15, 2019
Hi all,

I'm looking to get a new car and have come to a conclusion that I want to get a Leon Mk3 Petrol. I've viewed a 1.2 TSI 2014 SE with 45k from a dealer an hour away. Few key things I noticed were;
- humming noise for 2-3 seconds when turning ignition on(is this normal)
- side skirts looked like there were repainted as it was all bubbly
- rattling above drivers head during drive(originally thought a window was open but nope)

I just wanted to know if any of these were common faults.

There's also a 1.4 TSI 2014 SE Tech pack with 75k from a private seller. I'm currently ahhing and uhming whether the bigger engine and Tech pack is worth the extra 30k on the clock?

I planned on remapping the 1.2TSI and getting the windows tinted, with the 1.4 TSI Tech Pack these are pretty much done.

Norbert

Oct 16, 2018
Hi
Im not a leon expert however we got two on the drive.

Humming noise normal all do that.

1.4 I believe much better choice but another people will give you advice.

SRGTD

May 26, 2014
@JCM27; did it actually have side skirts fitted? The normal sills are coated with an anti stone chip coating prior to the body shell being painted in the factory when the car’s built. This protective coating has a mottled/dimpled appearance and if this is what you’re referring to a ‘bubbly’, then it’s normal.

Reactions: LouG

JCM27

Apr 15, 2019
@Norbert I thought as much. The dealer said it was normal but I didn't have anything to compare to so just took his word for it.

@SRGTD yeah, it was just the sills(didn't know the term hence sideskirts). That's great to hear it's normal then. I originally thought it was badly rusted and they tried to cover it up and botched it.

IbizaNI

Mar 23, 2015
Newtownards, Northern Ireland
Hi all,

I'm looking to get a new car and have come to a conclusion that I want to get a Leon Mk3 Petrol. I've viewed a 1.2 TSI 2014 SE with 45k from a dealer an hour away. Few key things I noticed were;