cooling down a turbo

cupra14

Aug 31, 2017
England
I understand a turbo should be cooled down after use... but how do you know when a turbo kicks in?

I suppose a subsidiary question is: why no dash light to show that enough cooling has not yet been done?

Is Start/Stop disabled if the turbo is still too hot and if not why the **** not?

TheLuckys

Nov 26, 2018
AFAIK the turbo doesn't need cooling down after a drive. Also, it's not something you "kick in", it's always on when the car is running.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Deleted member 103408

I am no mechanic but i thought the turbo was spinning all the time it just works harder (spins more) the more you push it.

Re dash light, when would it come on, it does not know you are nearing the end of your journey or it would only come on when the car came to a stop (so at every traffic light) and there are temp parameters in the stop start process but what you are doing is hopefully increasing the life span of the Turbo

This thread sums up why

Your turbo heats up to around 900 degrees Celsius under hard driving conditions. When you shut off the car, You suddenly take away the heat source and the ambient temperature falls to around 95 degrees Celsius (the normal operating temperature for a Subaru that has been driven hard). This causes the turbine housing to experience thermal shock. Now granted, it would take a long time for this thermal shock to actually cause damage, but you're probably reducing the turbo's life by putting it under stress unnecessarily. If you let the car idle for a minute or so, you allow the exhaust gas temperatures to gradually go down to 700, 600, 500, etc.

An example to support what I said: 1. When a cast iron manifold is welded (turbine housing is cast iron too), it is recommended to toss the whole thing into a fire and let it burn out overnight so that the manifold cools down gradually to prevent stress points from forming.