Switching interior lights to LED

Oct 24, 2019
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Hi All,

First post here! I'm also a new driver/not familiar with cars.
I've seen multiple threads relating to this, but not sure if it applies to my model.

I have a 2015 1.2 Petrol, DSG, 5 Door Seat Leon. I'm looking to change all the interior lights to LED's.
Can anyone link me to a set that will work? Is there anything I need to take into consideration?

OJ9693

Mk3 Leon FR 150
Sep 2, 2019
Welcome to the forums.

From what i've gathered messing around with bulbs is if you're replacing halogen bulbs with LED's, you need to buy 'Canbus error free' . Most of what you see on ebay etc are these.

I've also learnt that any bulbs on dimmer switches, for example, above head reading lights and footwell, they won't work properly and flicker on and off. Although i was told on here you can lower the brightness in your settings, as the flickering may be because it is drawing too much power.
I'm yet to try that though as i purchased some red halogens instead and they work fine for me.

OJ9693

Mk3 Leon FR 150
Sep 2, 2019
Thanks Guys, I bought some 501 W5W and 239 C5W bulbs from Halfords today, hoping these might work!
If not, then I'll buy the ones you have suggested :happy:

From memory i don't think halfords LED's are error free so you might get an error light on your dash after using these.

Again you might not :)

Speedbird

Aug 10, 2018
I changed all my interior bulbs to LED's when I got the car.

You need several different types of bulb, there is a thread listing them somewhere.

I buy all my bulbs from an ebay seller called fizzmo and have done for years. Here is a link to some of his bulbs, I think these are the ones for the rear passenger compartment lights: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2x-8-SMD-LED-501-T10-W5W-WEDGE-CANBUS-NO-ERROR-FREE-XENON-WHITE-SIDE-LIGHT-BULB/290617372321?ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649

salsajoe

Apr 12, 2017
Yorkshire