TCS Expination for a complete newbie

andycupra

status subject to change
CupraUK said:
I powerslide all the time in the wet, I still think I can do a much better job than the crappy system. If it were something clever like the 4 wheel stuff in the Skyline then I'd have some faith in it.

If I've got understeer then I want power to get me out of it.

good luck with that!
:lol:

CupraUK

Pushing on
Aug 15, 2005
Bedfordshire
I diddn't phrase that very well!

try "if I've got understeer then I want power WHEN I WANT IT to get me out of it". I don't want to dip then power when I've found adhesion and find that the damn ECU has other ideas.

Muttley

Catch that diesel!
Mar 17, 2006
North Kent
As I understand it:

TCS looks at the difference between front and rear wheel speeds and cuts power if it detects a loss of traction at the front - that is, front wheels overspeeding. It would come in if you overcooked a drag-race start from the traffic lights or if you push it too hard in a corner. If you get TCS cutting in on a dry road, you have hit the limit of adhesion for your tyre/suspension combination, and been saved from losing the plot in an embarassing way. If you feel you need more performance, look to your tyres and suspension, to get the power down.

If you switch off TCS you still have EDL which is part of the ABS system and can't be switched off. It mimics the function of a limited slip diff by braking the unloaded wheel (usually the one inside the curve) - without TCS, this will let you break traction with the outside wheel too, which usually leads to understeering into the scenery.

Outside of the racetrack, it is not considered polite to drive on the limit of adhesion, as you have no margin for error. If you find you are regularly provoking the TCS, and have already sorted the suspension and tyres, then take up circuit racing, where your accident is unlikely to hurt anybody else and full emergency facilities are close at hand.