Search results

1. davidmills2002

EGR insufficient flow

I know I'd never heard of an EGR filter until I came across them at work. Make sense though to filter the EGR gases before chucking them back in the cylinder.
  2. davidmills2002

EGR insufficient flow

Also I don't know if it's the same for all VW's, but the filter is sealed in a metal tube and so you can't remove it to clean, just have to replace it.
  3. davidmills2002

EGR insufficient flow

I work as an engine test engineer and operate an engine test cell so isn't completely representative of the layout on a car. The VW I have in my cell is a rare American 2.0L CR Tdi and has the EGR filter mounted to the EGR cooler. If you trace the EGR valve to the cooler, you should come across...
  4. davidmills2002

EGR insufficient flow

We get this fault code all the time at work. Usually cured by changing the EGR filter. This gets blocked with soot and means that there isn't as much EGR flow as required.
  5. davidmills2002

Can a clutch "stop" slipping

My car developed a strange "kangarooing" effect when you engaged the clutch a few months after having an uprated clutch fitted in 2008. Hard to explain what it felt like, but was as if you started to pull away then dipped the clutch quickly and re-engaged it. This was around for a few months...
  6. davidmills2002

My Mk5 Ibiza Bocanegra (Miltek Exhaust Fitted)

Where are those latest pics taken??? I think I recognise the top one outside your house but the others?
  7. davidmills2002

My Mk5 Ibiza Bocanegra (Miltek Exhaust Fitted)

Car's looking nice and tidy!
  8. davidmills2002

RPM=speed

Remember lower RPM doesn't always mean better economy. But my FR in 6th is just over 2k at 70 and around 3.5k at 80
  9. davidmills2002

RPM=speed

The gear ratios are different for different models and also what gears do you want to know it for?
  10. davidmills2002

mk4 FR problems