1.9 or 2.0 TDI ?

davidif

Dec 17, 2006
Worcestershire
The time has come to return my current lease car a LEON 2.0 TDi FR and i have decided to buy a car this time. I fancy an ALTEA it must be a diesel as i have a 55 mile round trip commute. I am not looking for a high performance car( more about that in a minute) so the priority is economy,however i am worried that after the FR ,a 1.9 TDI in particular will feel too slow. I am therefore thinking about a 2.0 TDI sport or a 1.9 TDI stylance and if the later would consider a remap.

I have plenty of experience with the engines in question having had Fabia vrs, A3 2.0TDI and my wifes current Passat 1.9 TDI (100 bhp) amongst quite a few others although have no experience of the engines in an ALTEA anybody have any thoughts or comments?

I am looking at spending up to 6k which would seem to mean 04/05 cars again is their anything i should watch out for?

Finally, and apologies for such a long post, if all goes to plan i will have about 2k to spend on a fun car. Possibilities include an MX5(already had one),a Corrado/Scirocco or an early IBIZA GTI.

Viking

Insurance co's are crap.
May 19, 2007
Near Richmond, North Yorks
The 2.0ltr sport tdi is the same engine as the Audi A3 2.0ltr (providing that it was a 140bhp). The car is a bit heavier so performance will be slightly less than the Audi, but still a valid comparison as you've driven the A3 2.0ltr. My Altea is very nippy, and really comfortable. Much more refined than the 1.9 engine we had in the previous Bora.

stuwbafc

Aug 30, 2009
bearwood
i've been really pleased with our altea (19tdi) we had an astra sri xp before this and that was pretty quick but although the altea is diesel theirs not much differance in my opinion :D

pdh 14a

Mr Fussy
Jan 21, 2008
Swansea
45 mpg or 55 mpg,and price/insurance thats the main questions really!
I'm a 36 year old boy racer,so wouldn't entertain a 1.9 but i'm sure they are quick enough for 90% of people :D

davidif

Dec 17, 2006