2.0 TFSI

Jun 15, 2019
Greetings,

as I am new to the SEAT(VAG group) world, I am interested in purchasing a 2006 Leon with the 2.0 TFSI engine(185hp). I was wondering if any of you fellow owners could bring me up to date about the reliabilty of this engine, common and known faults/downsides. Fuel consumption is not a big factor for me as I know 185 hp when driven hard can build up the fuel bill quite easily, I just want to know is the engine reliabilty on par with the performance and looks which it absoultely delivers.

Thanks in advance, Marko

Brimfull

Nov 7, 2018
Wrexham
Greetings,

as I am new to the SEAT(VAG group) world, I am interested in purchasing a 2006 Leon with the 2.0 TFSI engine(185hp). I was wondering if any of you fellow owners could bring me up to date about the reliabilty of this engine, common and known faults/downsides. Fuel consumption is not a big factor for me as I know 185 hp when driven hard can build up the fuel bill quite easily, I just want to know is the engine reliabilty on par with the performance and looks which it absoultely delivers.

Thanks in advance, Marko
Why 180bhp version?? You might aswell go for the fr and get 200bhp.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Jun 15, 2019
I know, but I have a really good offer for the 185hp version, FRs in my country are a bit pricey(almost double that of a regular leon with 185hp, but only 15hp more, the bodykit and the interior)

R3k1355

Oct 30, 2014
Yorkshire
The cam follower need regular inspection or replacement, earlier engines would wear the thing quite badly.
More recent parts have a coating on to prevent such rapid wear.

If it's not been changed or inspected recently you should to it immediately.
Also the diverter valves often leak, again the parts were updated and more recent versions are not so prone to failure.

Reactions: Legojon

Paulki

Jul 12, 2006
Enfield