Alhambra 20vt throttle body issues

chudspeed20vt

Hi there,
ive had it about a month now, i replaced the battery i knew i needed to do the throttle body adaptation which i did, it the came up with lower limit not reached fault code, i removed tb and cleaned it after that it came up with tb malfuntion, control limit exceeded, fault in basic settings and throttle position sensor malfuntion, car idled allover from 1000 - 1500 and when on full throttle it intermitantly died lift off slighty it was fine again.
So i order and fitted a new throttle body and guess what still puts 2 codes up 1545 and 1565, it does idle better and accelerates better but still dies on full throttle, after it dies it puts up the fault code for control limit exceeded.

Im a mechanic by trade but havnt had much vag experience, this is baffeling me now so if anyone could help id be very grateful

its a mk1 alhambra 20vt engine code ajh year 99 t reg

thanks richard

chudspeed20vt

sounds like you haven't adapted it right mate.

well thats 1 of the things i wondered about, i did it with a snap on solus, does it have to be done via vagcom or should i be able to do it with the solus?

chudspeed20vt

I shud be able to get hold of a vagcom 2moro will try do it that way and see if it cures it, i was mortified when the codes came back especially after buyin a new genuine part lol

Muttley

Catch that diesel!
Mar 17, 2006
North Kent
Calibrating the throttle butterfly movement against the signal sent from the ECU. The adaption process measures the actual throttle position against the demand from the ECU and stores a little map of the settings.

chudspeed20vt

Well am having trouble getting a vagcom, went thru the adaptation procedure with the solus again and it did say adaptation complete tho the codes are stil there, it also has thrown up p0322 16706 g28 engine speed sensor, which considering i fitted a new sensor last week is abit odd could the two faults be related in anyway?