Altea FR

misty

Hi all Mr newbie here :D Just got an e-mail off Hobin Seat re:- Altea FR. Due in sometime in the middle of next year :blink: :blink: Will it be worth the wait?
dave

toys

Hello and welcome!

I saw a short piece about the FR in Autocar the other day. Basically it uses the 170 bhp TDi engine and comes with standard 17" wheels and other small visual tweeks (not all to my taste it must be said).

As an owner of a 140 TDi Altea, I don't know how the 170 drives, but I guess the extra power comes at the expense of a peakier delivery, and the economy will be a little worse? Someone may have experience of this engine in an other VAG car...

Mark

Tell

Staff member
Well it's not as if one needs the extra 30 bhp, the 140 has a fair amount of hump. Think the 170 is in the new Golf or will be.

Those people chipping will be getting there extra bhp's in any case.

Not too poor cold water on it. You wouldn't sell your Altea 140 TDI 17" just to get the FR I don't think, you might go, drat wish it was available when I bought mine, but other than that.

loadswine

loadswine
Looks fine, but I won't be changing mine, I'm running with similar horsepower anyway . I've got a tuning box that only cost a fraction of the price that it would cost to upgrade. PLus the FR doesn't look as if it is available with the DSG box which is a big attraction for me.

Tell

Staff member
So you managed to tune up your DSG... I may have lost that one when you did it ?. Any complications ?. Info ?.