Buying a cheap Seat Leon FR or nonFR (2.0TFSI)

Jan 15, 2019
Hello I am new to the world of VAG having never owned any in the past.
I have been looking to buy one and came across some seat Leons mk2 2.0 Tfsi FR and non-FR for around or less than 2k. Am I nuts for considering these?
I have read a few faults on these e.g tensioners and something called a diverter valve and this will be something I check during inspection.
I have seen some for roughly £1900-2000 with FSH and about 80-110k miles but slightly modified which can easily be put back to original. Is there something I need to be vary of or am I looking at the bottom end of the market ? The mk2 FR is similar to a golf gti mk5 which is more expensive so why are Leons cheaper?
Thank you.

Legojon

I only wanted a remap
Staff member
Jul 7, 2015
If you lift up the bonnet of a Seat. You'll find pretty much all the parts are Audi/VW badged. Seat share parts with all the VAG family. So yes, you're effectively getting a cheaper Golf gti mk5. Loads of members on here have Leons and as long as they are serviced and maintained on schedule mostly trouble free. The main thing to look out for is that the cambelt has been done (within the last 5 years / 60k miles) or you'll be footing the bill for that yourself. Diverter valve is around 50 quid, but I've never had one go.

Brimfull

Nov 7, 2018
Wrexham
Hello I am new to the world of VAG having never owned any in the past.
I have been looking to buy one and came across some seat Leons mk2 2.0 Tfsi FR and non-FR for around or less than 2k. Am I nuts for considering these?
I have read a few faults on these e.g tensioners and something called a diverter valve and this will be something I check during inspection.