Buzzing/rattling noise when blower/heater turned on

m22ibiza

Hi

Over te last few days I've noticed a buzzing/rattling sound whenever I have the car's heater/blower switched on.

The noise sounds like its coming from 'behind the dashboard' - suggesting its something to do with the heater fan.

I've googled the problem and a first guess would be something stuck in the fan (e.g. a leaf) or a worn bearing.

I'm not that mechanically minded so I thought I would ask you guys ... how tricky is it to check/clean the heater fan on teh Ibiza? I have a service dure on Saturday - is it best to ask them to check it out or would that be one of those '5 minute jobs' for a mechanic for which they'd charge a full hours labour? :)

Cheers

JMann

Hiya, just to let you know I get this problem as well. If you get it sorted please let me know, would like to stop that noise if at all possible!

aiite_ther_kidd

Hi there, apologies I am quite new to this but I have come across your feed regarding your heater problems and it sounds like the problem I am having is exactly the same as yours. I know it was a while ago but did you manage to work out what the noise was as it is slowly doing my head in! lol. Any help would be much appreciated!!

rf860

Jan 23, 2010
scotland
Hi there, apologies I am quite new to this but I have come across your feed regarding your heater problems and it sounds like the problem I am having is exactly the same as yours. I know it was a while ago but did you manage to work out what the noise was as it is slowly doing my head in! lol. Any help would be much appreciated!!

check if there is leaves in your pollen filter, this is what caused a kind of whirring/buzzing noise in my car when the filter was clogged

aiite_ther_kidd

I changed the pollen filter today so it isnt that unfortunately! Also I have changed the fan motor too! The only other part is the heater/fan matrix I believe but Seat think that it cant be that! Any other advice?
Thanks very much

rf860