Cupra 300 DSG Electronic Handbrake

Maypack

Ambassador for Cumberland Sausage
Apr 20, 2014
Gods Country - West Cumbria
Im new to a Cupra and a DSG Gearbox and both coupled with the electronic handbrake and Hill Hold has me perplexed!!

I was advised by dealer to leave the Handbrake in auto so it applies each time I stop. I have done this but every time I set off from stopping there feels like a clunk as the handbrake releases. Is that normal? As I’ve used a manual handbrake for the last 30 years or so (older driver lol) I thought I’d gauge opinions from experienced Cupra/DSG/Auto handbrake users.

Scrogg

Living life only a short bus ride from the edge...
Dec 31, 2017
Yes, that's normal. You'll get used to it very quickly.

Reactions: Maypack

Scrogg

Living life only a short bus ride from the edge...
Dec 31, 2017
That and the constant stop/start are taking a bit of getting used to.
The start/stop takes a little longer to get used to! The thing that annoys me most is that when the engine stops the power steering cuts out, so if you stop on an angle and want to straighten the wheels before pulling off you have to make the engine restart first.

Lmbarrett83

Sep 8, 2017
Sheffield
Might be I am a minority, but I have disabled start/stop completely using OBDeleven and also never use auto-hold.
That sounds extreme, isn't it something you can you turn off at the touch of a button on the new Leon?

I have a pre facelift MK3 manual and you can disable it on there I'm sure.

My only experience of it in DSG was in a S3. Apart from the issues it caused with my emerging onto busy roundabouts game, oh and pulling out at busy junctions I appreciated it.

Can you permanently disable it per mode? I.e leave it on in comfort but disable in sport or CUPRA when you are not too bothered about economy.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

Last edited:

Maypack

Apr 20, 2014