Dealer lost my service book

xxNickyxx

Mar 22, 2008
Nairn, near Inverness
My 2005 LCR was in for a service and they have lost the service book.

When I dropped the car off in the norning, I left the folder on the passenger seat with the service book sitting on top. When I picked up the car I was in a bit of a rush and didn't check if the book was inside the folder - bad move I know.

When I got home I checked the folder and the book wasn't in it, so searched the car and it wasn't there either.

Anyway, I had to pop into the dealer the next day to pick up parts I'd ordered and told them I didn't get the service book back when I picked up the car, so the conversation (with the spotty spikey haired boy who runs the service department!!!) goes like this:

Me: I didn't get the service book back after my car was in yesterday
Dealer: Oh, we don't take the books out of the cars
Me: Well it wasnt in the folder or in the car
Dealer: I've been doing this job for 7 years
Me: And??? Do you have the book?
Dealer: You would of got it back with the invoice
(and thats not taking it out the car how??!)
Me: No, I didn't get it
Dealer: Well, there was no books left over so you must have got it. Try searching the car again, all the places it might have fallen..........under the rear seats etc :confused: Or we can order you a new book

Where do I stand with this? Yes, I can get a duplicate book, but I only have the invoice for the first service, and I have a funny feeling that the garage only did the 10k and 20k services, not the 30k. Plus the garage is down in Glasgow, which is a 8 hour round trip from me!!

Can anyone help, and I don't want the car to only have a part service history when I eventually come to sell it.

cap r 225

the need for speed!
Feb 24, 2008
nantwich
www.seatcupra.net