exhaust noise

reefer24131

Jun 9, 2013
kent
ive just done away with my back box, i want that turbo spool down noise or what some people call a dump valve...

all i have in the system now is the cat, if i get rid of the cat will i then get that noise?

Apr 28, 2012
gravesend
hello mate i have a tdi ibiza in kent.ive done away with my backbox but still got dpf internals stopping a nice sound...im not sure if maybe u would need a turbo back system im not 100%

reefer24131

Jun 9, 2013
kent
hmm ok so your not getting the noise either? im new to diesels but in my petrol experience ive found that most cats havnt had no noise effect really

S10EAT

Jul 31, 2010
Eastbourne
If you have already got rid of the backbox you should be getting some whistle from the turbo, but if you want to enhance this noise I would recommend a milltek down pipe.

Its not necessary for a full system to be installed necessarily but if you've got the cash get the Downpipe and a 2.5" custom exhaust.

reefer24131

Jun 9, 2013
kent
i had a whistle from the exhaust before i removed the backbox although i think it might be a boost leak because a mondeo tdci 130ps had a slight edge on me earlier and surely a 150pd should have the edge on a mondy?

all i want is that "whooo" noise when you release off the throttle, surely you dont need a bigger downpipe to get that noise?

Apr 28, 2012
gravesend
i only get a nice sound when the regen starts but once dpf comes out the custom stainless steel system should make a nice sound all the time

Apr 28, 2012
gravesend
Yeah basically the car still sounds standars but only cause the dpf inters are still there once they come out it be fine...pop down to my bluewater meet tonight mate and ill explain abit more

reefer24131

Jun 9, 2013
kent
id like to but im babysitting...grrr, do u meet at bluewater every week? i used to go bluewater meets on thursday nights i think it was, im going back about 4years now.