External Hard Drive as Music Source?

whodini

May 22, 2018
Hi all,
Has anyone used or using an external Hard Drive as a source for music plugged into the usb ports in the centre console of the Leon,I am not very technical,so not sure about power requirements,size restrictions,possible damage etc.
Leon model I have is 1.8 ST FR DSG Auto
Thanks

Jaco2k

AWD FTW
Mar 11, 2018
Tampere, Finland
www.youtube.com
None of my business, but.... why? With current memory card capacities, isn't that a bit overkill? :)
If you really must do it, judging by the way it charges my phone, I would estimate the car USB ports put out a decent amperage amount (I estimate around 3A or so...) which should be probably enough to power a portable 2,5" HDD.
Not so sure about which formats the car reads, though - I guess you would need to format it to FAT32 or exFAT, although the second really is more for memory cards.
You would get no damage from plugging the drive in - the circuit will either have enough juice to power the drive or... not power the drive at all, so it is easy to find out ;)

weasley

May 19, 2017
South Oxfordshire
I am using an old iPod Video (5th gen) for this - it is essentially an HDD with some user software on it. Works fine; you can pick them up cheap and the car recognises it as an iPod and gives you all the controls you want to play music in various ways, plus manage it via iTunes if you want to (or you can set it up as a simple HDD for drag/drop file management).

Shaady

Jan 25, 2017
With the size of memory cards these days I just don't know why you would bother with a HDD connected like that.

Even if the USB port has enough power to power it driving around with a HDD spun up isnt going to do it any good, most likely it'll either destroy itself when you go over a pothole or the like or you'll shorten its life drastically with all that movement.

Reckon your best bet is either a memory card or phone

matt_s

4 8 15 16 23 42
Dec 23, 2004