First Post & First Thoughts

rclarke

Just thought I would introduce myself to these forums:

I had been driving a Fiat Punto HGT for 5 years but at nearly 70,000 miles I thought it time for a change, especially as I had to replace the variator during the 60,000 service at the grand cost of £666 … could this be a sign of things to come and more big bills? As most of our family drive Fiats (due to their employee purchase scheme), I had no intention of changing, however there isn’t currently a “sporty” offering in the Grande Punto line so that forced me to look elsewhere.

One copy of Top Gear magazine and lots of Googling later ended up with me standing in Humphris of Oxford looking at a Leon 2.0 T FSI FR. After considering all the optional extras I decided to go for just the Zenith grey metallic paint and Bluetooth kit, especially as I spend 2 hours a day in my car mostly talking on the phone. So a good deal was struck and approx 2 weeks later we went to pick up the new car. The excitement was somewhat dampened by the fact that the dealer had forgotten to install the Bluetooth kit. The Sales guy was very apologetic and offered me a free first service as compensation. Unfortunately they only have one mechanic that can fit these kits and he was on holiday so I have had to book it in at a later date. Another disappointment was the special “discourtesy” light which was fitted to my Leon. The centre position on the switch does not work so the courtesy light is either always on or always off. Hopefully this will get fixed at the same time the Bluetooth is fitted. One very nice touch by the dealer was that they put original Seat mats in the car for free and gave my partner a bouquet of flowers.