Fitting a Towbar to Cupra R

Willie

LCR Track car
Aug 6, 2004
Sunny Scotland
Wheres theres a will theres a way
You'd have to cut the rear bumper but its got to be a case of just welding/bolting it to the subframe somewhere

jaybo

yep i know the manual says its a no no but i cant see what harm it will do if other 1.8 20v are able to tow stuff. a jetski isnt exactly the heavist thing in the world.

I understand i would have to cut the bumper but it would be worth it.

Blelock

Aug 5, 2007
Mine had a towbar on it before I got it. Dont know what make the towbar was sorry. Yes you have to cut a hole in the bumper. I had to fix the hole when I bought the car.

Mar 18, 2003
In oncoming traffic
Visit site
One problem you may have is the R is not type approved for towing, so the legalities may put of some places and iirc thats why no one seems to make a bar for it!! Sorry but at least you wanna use a jetski, I would hate to see an R towing a caravan!!

AMR_RM

Hi Guys

I am a bit of a newbie on here but was wandering if it is possible to fit a Towbar to a 04 Laon Cupra R as i need one to tow my Jet Ski

I found this one for the cupra but would it fit a Cupra R

http://www.towequipe.co.uk/1/1/1914-gdw-detach-towbar-seat-leon-cupra-fr-topsport-00-05-st9143.html

Many Thanks

Mark

Hi
I have a 04 LCR with a Brink detachable towbar on it
Had it fitted when i first got the car in 04 and i have had no problems with it.

I had it fitted by Towequipe at their premises and they did a real good job.
The only real issue i had was that they had to cut the rear bumper, looks like it had a post box in but i asked them to keep the plastic they cut out and i made myself a cover to put in so it doesn't look like there is anything there now.