Front and rear pad fitting??

loveturbopower

Jun 13, 2007
Frome, Somerset
Hey Guys, now i know some of you mite give me greif but i have searched and couldnt find a guide, lol but basically im no mechanic but ive changed pads, discs, lowered my car, fitted intercoolers etc but obv some cars are different to others, ive just picked up my new standard pads for front and rear, im going to get a garage to do the rear for me as sounds abit of mission, but im going to do the fronts later, this is the way i would do it so could you tell me if this would be correct on our mk3 ibiza cupras please :)

1. Wheel off (obviously)
2. Undo caliper bolts
3. Old pads out
4. Undo nipple
5. Push pistons back with g-clamp
6.New pads in
7. Pump the pedal to get some old fluid out
8.Do nipple up
9.Pump brakes with engine running
10. Refil brake fluid if neccesary

Would that be correct?? i dont it this way on my first two cars and on my stepdads zafira

Also are the rears really that difficult, i mean i can get hold of a rewind tool if needed but i dnt understand about the handbrake side of it??

Thanks guys

Nov 2, 2004
South Wales
No need to undo the bleed nipple, the caliper will push back on its own, althought the pot is threaded so you'd be advised to use a wind back tool to do it.

Last edited:

loveturbopower

Jun 13, 2007
Frome, Somerset
Oh, wudnt i need to let some fluid out tho otherwise my brake fluid level will be over max?? Also cant it mess up the master cylinder if you try to force the fluid the wrong way through??

Seat Adam

Dirty Densel Driver
7. Pump the pedal to get some old fluid out
I wouldn't do this part as when you lift the pedal up it will suck air back into the system unless you've got a bleed bottle connected up with fluid in it to stop the air coming back.