Help needed badly with stereo install

JamesIbiza

Oct 5, 2018
Hi
I'm having a few issues installing an aftermarket head unit into my car, and I would be hugely grateful if anyone can help me make sense of this. I'm a complete beginner, although I've been doing my best to research and learn all I can.
I have a 2006 seat ibiza fr 1.9tdi, type 6L.
I purchased a connects2 steering wheel interface (CTSST002.2) which I understand should work with my car, along with the pioneer MVH-X580BT stereo. My plan was to also install amp, sub and possibly new speakers after this.

So I connected the adaptor and head unit to my car, but it didn't work, the head unit wouldn't power on.

My next step after some research was to buy a multimeter. I tested the connections, and the yellow wire was receiving 12v, but the red wire was at 0v (ignition on or off). On the wiring diagrams I found online for my car, the location of the 12v ignition switch should be where the red wire is located on the connects2 adapter, but in my car it is not.

I removed the red pin from the adaptor harness and connected it to the yellow's connection (to test if the stereo would power on). The stereo did power on, and the steering wheel controls worked perfectly.

So now I know there is some issue with the 12v ignition switch/red wire, I'm just not sure what to do about it? I have tried testing the factory harness for a 12v ignition switch, but the only one i can find is 10v ignition on 0v ignition off, and on the wiring diagram online it is marked *Aut antenna in this pin. I should say my factory head unit functions without issue.