Internals for Big turbo

Oct 31, 2006
Cambs
i'm hopefully going to be going big turbo soon and haven't really got a clue what i'll need for the internals of the engine,

I'm hopefully going to be running gt28rs and would like to see 300-350 bhp, for this i can assume i'll need pistons, rods, valves, headbolts but i'm not sure what else would be needed any help is greatly recieved as i've never done anything like this before,

have you any recommendations for parts/ suppliers etc

Thanks for help in advance

Tim

caveo

You wont need the internals doing if you stay around 330 bhp mark. Over this and the rods need uprating.
Where are you going for the BT upgrade?

Oct 31, 2006
Cambs
i'd rather do the internals to be on the safe side and a mate will do it for me at a resonable price, as for whos doing it i'd like to have a go myself so if anything goes wrong i'll have idea on how to fix it and for a sense of i did it all myself, probably the wrong approach i know!!

I'll have search on it, if i don't get any joy i'll be back! ha ha

Tim

caveo

Check out the vag worx web site for a very good selection of internal parts.

The MoffMeister

Half Hoff, Half Moff.
Apr 4, 2006
colchester
well generally

pistons
exhaust and inlet valves
rods
head bolts
shells
big end bearings

have a look at hooch's thread at beginning theres loads there

Oct 31, 2006
Cambs
i'll have a look on vagworx's website,

is there any particular make that stands out above the rest or is it all just personal preferance at the end of the day?

is there any upgrade with the shells or is it just new items, same with the big end bearings?

Tim

Ianb

Nov 13, 2003
I ran my APR Stage 3+ that Awersome fitted at 100k......it will run safely at 340bhp according to APR.

However I rebuilt at 109k for peacer of mind and some track work would put extra duress on the engine.

I used the following supplier after advise from many on Vortex

www.qedpower.com