Newbie Question re: Forge Recirculating Valve.

Jerry*

Aug 12, 2009
Leeds
I've read lots of stuff on the forum about how many people have fitted the replacement Forge recirculation valve to their vehicles with great interest. I have some questions though which I can't seem to fathom out - hope people can help me?

Is this the kit that most people fit?

http://www.forgemotorsport.co.uk/content.asp?inc=product&cat=0006&product=FMCL007P

Am I right in thinking that this is not a dump valve and WON'T give off a loud "psssh" noise everytime I back off the trottle?

Are they easy to fit (i.e. can a complete novice fit one) or are there potential pitfalls that mean I should really get a qualified mechanic to fit one?

What are the advantages over the OE valve?

Do they improve reliability of the engine or do they potentially put more strain on it?

Do they increase power or torque output?

Do they work 100% on a standard LCR225 on their own or should I be looking to fit other mods as well to get the best out of it?

My car currently drives great and power delivery seems to be spot on, however when on boost I hear a wavering kind of whistling noise coming from the engine that doesn't really sound like a turbo normally would (I can't actually hear the turbo because of it). Its almost like I've got the window slightly down and the air is blowing through it and doesn't seem consistent with the speed that the engine is spinning at. Could this be a fault with the OE recirculation valve or is it something else?

Is £90-odd about the right sort of price for one of these kits or could I source one cheaper elsewhere?

Thanks for your help..

J:)

JamJay

California Bound
Yes that is the correct valve, the Forge 007 :)

It's a fully recirculating valve so it won't make a Ptshhhh sound unless you mate it with an open cone induction kit. To make it louder you can remove the bonnet lining, do an N249 bypass, air filter and get a remap to increase boost pressure.