Noise after start - FR 150

MrRilo

Jun 4, 2016
Buxton, Derbyshire
I have had a noise for a while which sounds to me like the starter motor over running. It only happens when the car has been stood for a few hours.

Took it to the dealer and surprisingly they couldn't make it do it, even though it does it every time it has been stood for a while. They said it's probably just tappet noise, I'm no expert but doesn't sound like it to me.

Sent them the video I have posted on youtube
they promised to get back to me, even and though I have rung 3 times, I've heard nothing back.

Any one got any ideas? Should I be worried?

2 year old FR 150 petrol with only 9000 on it.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

zedlor

Aug 24, 2017
Warrington
...what am I listening for?

If it's that 'whirring' sound every Seat I've ever heard has made that noise after starting. My Cupra and my dad's FR 125 are the exact same.

MrRilo

Jun 4, 2016
Buxton, Derbyshire
...what am I listening for?

If it's that 'whirring' sound every Seat I've ever heard has made that noise after starting. My Cupra and my dad's FR 125 are the exact same.
It's the noise after it's started, goes on for about a second.

Does the Cupra and FR 125 do it when they are warm? Mine is silent when warm started.

MrRilo

Jun 4, 2016
Buxton, Derbyshire
Sounds normal to me. Has it just started doing it, or have you just noticed it?
Been doing it for a while but only noticed it because I hadn't got the radio switched on when i started it. May have always done it.

Reason I'm curious about it is because it sounds metallic to me and only does it cold.

zedlor

Aug 24, 2017
Warrington
It's the noise after it's started, goes on for about a second.

Does the Cupra and FR 125 do it when they are warm? Mine is silent when warm started.