Power steering issues

JBRADY95

Jan 8, 2018
York
Hi,
Im new to Ibizas but Ive got a Mk1 LCR and a MK2 FR 170 TDi and been around VAG for years so sort of know my way about them.
Just a quick one, wondering if someone can offer some advice. I was given a 1.4 Ibiza 2006 by a friend who was going to scrap it because it had lost power steering. I took it on as I thought it would be a quick fix and I could shift it on for some money.
So at the weekend I replaced the power steering pump, the fluid obviously, all the fuses on top of the battery and the battery itself and still not working. Theres an orange steering wheel light on the dash but no fault codes coming up on my code reader. Would anyone think a failing alternator could be the cause? Other than that, im out of ideas.

Legojon

I only wanted a remap
Staff member
Jul 7, 2015
Stupid question. Is it just the light that needs resetting? Does the power steering actually work now?

Legojon

I only wanted a remap
Staff member
Jul 7, 2015
Not sure on this particular model, but I assume the pump is belt driven. Have you checked the aux belt, tensioners, etc?

JBRADY95

Jan 8, 2018
York
Not sure on this particular model, but I assume the pump is belt driven. Have you checked the aux belt, tensioners, etc?
Its not its an electric pump just behind nearside fog light. As said in post, replaced this full unit and still no luck.

Legojon

I only wanted a remap
Staff member
Jul 7, 2015
Have you taken it for a drive afterwards? Turned the lock fully left / fully right? Wondering if it's like when you disconnect the battery and you have to do that to reset it.

JBRADY95

Jan 8, 2018
York
Have you taken it for a drive afterwards? Turned the lock fully left / fully right? Wondering if it's like when you disconnect the battery and you have to do that to reset it.