R plate Ibiza GTi. It's the 8v version - Hints & tips please?

Jordo

Mar 8, 2009
Edinburgh, Scotland.
Well I'm in need of alot of help really. I have recently aquired an R plate Ibiza GTi. It's the 8v version and I see alot of people calling it "Cupra Sport". I have no geinuine knowledge concerning the Ibiza and would like some tips, hints and info so I can actually tell people exactly what it is and what it can do. I have only owned two cars in my time with a driving licence, the first being a 2.0HDi Pug 307 (go on laugh!). Is there any way anyone could pipe up and let me know exactly what I have and what can be done with it.

Cheers.

Dec 17, 2006
Bristol
That's a tin of worms that gets opened now and again!

You probably have a 'cupra sport GTi', but it may also be a 'GTi'. No-one is certain on the differences between the two, either.

Either way, performance is more or less on a par with a mk2 golf 8v; 0-60 ~9 secs, top speed ~123mph.

orangemuffin

i love you all.......
Sep 24, 2008
yesterday
yep, the mk3 golf gti 8v engine but in a body that weighs much less.

BHP wise the book says 115bhp...from what i have read & seen people RR anything from 120 to 130.

post a pic up mate.

Jordo

Mar 8, 2009
Edinburgh, Scotland.
I'll post a pic asap as it's still locked up in my dads garage. It's in the high tax bracket and the bugger has caught me a bit short this month. It's off the road for the time being.

Jordo

Mar 8, 2009
Edinburgh, Scotland.
Bloody hell. Never saw that coming.

If I post up a couple of pics of the car tomorrow, will anyone be able to tell just by looking at it if it's the GTi or the GTi Cupra Sport? I have no idea whatsoever what the difference is mind you! :lol:

Presha

six on the brain
Sep 17, 2007
Birmingham
So everyone just thought that the Ibiza was lighter without actually looking it up :lol:

I was abit confused when i looked up to see how much heavier the vr6 is going to make my Ibiza!

suj

Wheel Connoisseur
Jan 1, 2009
Birmingham