Rattle from Passenger Side Dash / Glovebox - Fixed!

Leonfan2

This is my first time of posting on this site, although have been reading the articles for the last 2 months since I got my Leon FR TFSI.

I have experienced, as described by some others, an annoying rattle from my dashboard / glovebox area (at speeds of c70mph) ever since purchasing the car.

The "rattle" has finally been tracked down and fixed. It was caused by a loosely fitted cable that was catching / vibrating against one of the heating ducts located behind the dash.

To resolve the problem involved removal and refitting of the dash.

Hope this helps anyone else experiencing the same problem.

Greytop

Leon FR-TDI 170
Sep 19, 2006
Reading, Berkshire
This is my first time of posting on this site, although have been reading the articles for the last 2 months since I got my Leon FR TFSI.

I have experienced, as described by some others, an annoying rattle from my dashboard / glovebox area (at speeds of c70mph) ever since purchasing the car.

The "rattle" has finally been tracked down and fixed. It was caused by a loosely fitted cable that was catching / vibrating against one of the heating ducts located behind the dash.

To resolve the problem involved removal and refitting of the dash.

Hope this helps anyone else experiencing the same problem.

Interesting, Leonfan2.

I wonder if it is the same rattle vibration that I have. Its certainly the same sort of area. Mine seems to be dependant on speed only, not engine revs. It occurs over 80 - 85 and I had a hunch that it was wind speed related as gusting wind seems to make it worse. How does this stack up with regard to your observations?

So I take it that it wasn't possible to resolve it just by removing the glovebox housing?

Thanks for posting :)

Last edited:

mliley01

Nov 26, 2006
Solihull
This is all sounding familiar again !!! Could be the same one, but like Greytop mine is dependant on speed too.. and over 80 seems to be the trigger.