remap

fruitcake1987

Hi guys I'm after a bit of advise I'm looking to get a remap on my 04 tdi cupra and have found a company that are close and in my budget there offering to put it up to 206 bhp with 322 torque I'm new to remaps and after research have found it may damage the clutch is this common? Will I need a new clutch before the remap? Many thanks

towcester vag

Oct 17, 2011
duston northants
no you wont need a clutch if you drive normal
you will need a uprated clutch if you drive spirited
the clutch will slip in 3rd/4th/5th and 6th when it comes onto boost if you drive the car hard
i replaced mine because of this and when it took it out it wasnt even half worn it just couldnt take the power through it
i fitted a helix uprated clutch with a dualmass
Lots of money £700 +

Dilligaf

300 plus on the torque and you are definitely into new clutch territory. That seems to be the recognised limit for these clutches. Do it knowing you will probs need a new clutch and you won't look back! I made nearly 330 torque and it slipped immediately on boost.

Sent from my HTC One S using Tapatalk 2

fruitcake1987

I thought it might need replacing with the increase might have to wait a while, £250 for a remap is affordable but adding a racing clutch is a little out my range plus only had it a month now so sorting out the previous owners neglect still but couldn't imagine owning another car just wanted to iron out the flat spots and give it a boost where needed thanks for the reply guys

fruitcake1987

Was gonna get it done by Celtic tuning in roche but if needing a new clutch will need to wait and save more mahony

Rays_Cupra150

New to Seatcupra.net,