The usual BAM engine fauts/problems.

Rich.T

Feb 15, 2020
Morning all.

As i sead in another thread, ive just bought myself an 04 plate cupra r thats had a few mods done to it. A remap, red silicone hoses and a forge dump valve. Want to replace the hoses with black or original hoses and loose the dump valve (bit old for all that now lol).
At the moment im a mechanic with decent facilities at hand but looking at a career change later this year.
The car runs fine and am more than happy with it but whilst im in the position im in at the moment id like to try and future proof it as much as possible before i have to pay someone else to do it.

Anything i could do with replacing now on the car?

Belt and pump done a couple of weeks before I bought it.

Found a couple of oil leaks i need to sort but other than that, all seems well (touch wood).

All input welcome.

Cheers Rich

Gokiwi64

Geriatric Member
Apr 26, 2014
Hockley, Essex
Wouldnt bother with oem - stupid expensive and add no value to the car, silicon far superior (if good brand name used). If you cant stand the red then yes replace with black.

The hockey puck and crankcase breathers, dip stick tube could all be a bit suspect by now as could the rear calipers , door seals and pollen filter can all let water into the cabin.

Suspension/bushes probably need a look over too.

Reactions: Rich.T

Rich.T

Feb 15, 2020
Wouldnt bother with oem - stupid expensive and add no value to the car, silicon far superior (if good brand name used). If you cant stand the red then yes replace with black.

The hockey puck and crankcase breathers, dip stick tube could all be a bit suspect by now as could the rear calipers , door seals and pollen filter can all let water into the cabin.

Suspension/bushes probably need a look over too.

Thanks for the info.

Will address the crank breather and dipstick tube.
Whats the hockey stick?