VAG Teesside

hughie

Anyone with a VAG unit in the Teesside area who could check a fault for me..?

Thanks

Hughie

Kevgrady

May 4, 2006
North East
I'm in skelton awaiting delivery of vcds tomorrow, if you have your engine management light on I have a snap-on code/data reader that will do the job too.

hughie

Hya my mate problem I have is a car that once hot cuts out...through this site ive been told it could be the engine speed sensor..but I don't know much about seat cars....its been on a snap on box but that said the cam sensor was intermittent...it hasn't got a cam sensor !!!
So ime looking for someone who can do me a scan and tell me whats going on...

cheers..

oh car is a MK1 2,0 ltr 8 valve.

hughie

To be honest Kev I haven't a clue..are you a garage.....??

can anyone use the discs..can anyone get the discs etc etc......

Ime over in Grangetown but at work during the day until about 3:30 ish.

cheers

Kevgrady

May 4, 2006
North East
Yes and no. I work in the trade. Anybody can buy vcds, there is a free version that only works on early models you download that from Ross-tech and just buy the lead. I've ordered the full version that works on all models or most of them from 1995/present. With the paid version you got activate features, run logs and read fault codes where as the free version I believe you can only read fault codes.

hughie

Thanks Kev....noticed on ebay there are also some hand held units to give you fault codes..would these be any good ? do they work or is it better to get the dicks and leads...?

Kevgrady

May 4, 2006
North East
It's entirely up to you, could you justify paying £260 for the full version? Does your engine management light come on?

hughie