Why no-one tried a sequential turbo setup on TDI?

vti-chris

Positioning won't be that of a problem...there should be some space somewhere.

It would keep the stock boost to higher rpm...thus increasing hp at top end.

No clutch issues since no more boost will be run.

I don't know whether the stock injectors can work on high end...someone help here.

I'm a noob and just asking, so !!!

Something like 123d or 335d.

I know it must have been asked before but searched and found nothing specific.

vti-chris

What cost?
An extra turbo...custom downpipe.
If no remap is done...won't the ecu add the extra fuel on top end say from 3-5K?

The added turbo would be set to the same boost level...

vroomtshh

Sep 11, 2005
Dreghorn, Scotland
What cost?
An extra turbo...custom downpipe.
If no remap is done...won't the ecu add the extra fuel on top end say from 3-5K?

The added turbo would be set to the same boost level...

Turbo, downpipe, manifold (unless your planning on adding the extra turbo intot he downpipe)
If no remap is done, the car will run like a bag of spanners.

If you add this extra turbo, running the same boost level, would you go for a bigger or smaller turbo? And what do you hope to achieve by doing it?

Last edited:

samc

Jan 18, 2010
its been done, theres a mk2 golf on youtube running 10second 1/4miles with sequential turbos

vti-chris

123d...second turbo mounted on the downpipe.

Why wouldn't it run.
Second larger turbo will spool at 3000 and keep it to redline...all i'm concerned is the fueling...will the ecu compensate to the increased flow on higher rpm at the same boost levels?

vroomtshh

Sep 11, 2005
Dreghorn, Scotland
123d...second turbo mounted on the downpipe.

Why wouldn't it run.
Second larger turbo will spool at 3000 and keep it to redline...all i'm concerned is the fueling...will the ecu compensate to the increased flow on higher rpm at the same boost levels?

So you;d fit a larger turbo than you currently have into the downpipe?